## **Council of Chairs Condemnation of Sunday's Act of Hate**

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Dear Fellow Tritons,

We write to condemn the outrageous act of hate committed on May 31 that disrupted a meeting called by the Associated Students. As department chairs, one of our most vital duties is to serve students, staff, and faculty by helping to foster a university climate that upholds UC San Diego's Principles of Community. Racist slurs, and those who voice them, have no place in our principled community. We join with Associated Students leaders and with VC-EDI Becky Petitt and VCSA Alysson Satterlund in rejecting and condemning the act of hate, and urge that the strongest possible steps be taken to address it. Cowardly acts like this that target one group of students at our university deeply offend all members of our community, and our campus must stand united to denounce them.

Thad Kousser

Department Chair, Political Science (Co-convener, Council of Chairs)

John S. McCartney,

Department Chair, Structural Engineering (Co-convener, Council of Chairs)

James Brewer,

Department Chair, Neuroscience (Co-convener, Council of Chairs)

Mark Estelle

Chair, Cell and Developmental Biology

Lei Ni

Department Chair, Mathematics

Alexander Norbash MD, MS

Chair of Radiology

Graham Elliott

Department Chair, Economics

Peter Franks,

Chair, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Dean Tullson Chair, Computer Science and Engineering

Michael Gorman Department Chair, Psychology

Yishi Jin, PhD Chair, Neurobiology Section

David Borgo Department Chair, Music

M. Brian Maple Chair, Department of Physics

Vicki H. Grassian Chair, Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Allan Havis Department Chair, Theatre & Dance

Ananda W. Goldrath, PhD Chair of Molecular Biology

Dayo Gore Department Chair, Ethnic Studies

David Holway Chair, Ecology, Behavior & Evolution

Kun Zhang, Professor and Chair UCSD Department of Bioengineering

Brian Goldfarb Department Chair, Communication

Bill Lin, Department Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Edward Watts Department Chair, History Jonathan Cohen Department Chair, Philosophy

Eric Baković Department Chair, Linguistics

Amy Binder Department Chair, Sociology

Lihini Aluwihare Head, Earth Science Section Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Bryan Clary, MD Chair, Department of Surgery

Steven M Parish Department Chair, Anthropology

Isaac Martin
Department Chair, Urban Studies and Planning

Carlos F. M. Coimbra Department Chair, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Carolyn Hofstetter Department Chair, Education Studies

Amy Adler Department Chair, UCSD Visual Arts Department

Yingjin Zhang Department Chair, Literature

Douglas Nitz Department Chair, Cognitive Science

Shaochen Chen Department Chair, NanoEngineering